St. Mary’s was built in 1850 by James Moilliet to replace St. Michael’s church which had become unsafe. In the Early English Decorated style the local stone was quarried in Abberley and nearby, with Devonshire Marble Pillars with carvings on the corbels of a wolf’s head, an ark, a swan, a dove, pomegranates and an eagle’s head. The senior choir stalls are misericords, hinged seats with a wooden block on which choirmen could sit during long sermons. The font has an inscription “One Lord, One Faith, One Baptism”. Under the porch eaves reads “O Lord open Thou our lips and our mouth shall show forth Thy praise”. Outside beneath the eaves are the words of the Magnificat.
There are several memorial windows, a Millennium Tapestry and many fine articles of marvellous needlework .
Open all day.
Limited parking on the church driveway.
A new publication featuring both Abberley churches is now available from St. Mary's, or by request. In full colour throughout, the booklet gives a clear and concise history of the the Norman and victorian buildings.